Ta'er Monastery


Ta'er Monastery, Xining by tian yake. Sourced via Flickr under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs License.

Built in 1560, during the Ming Dynasty, Ta'er Monastery is one of China's six Tibetan Buddhist Monasteries belonging to the Gelu branch of Buddhism. In the year 1749, the Emperor Qianlong named Ta'er as "Fan Zhong Monastery." The Monastery covers an area of 40 hectares and consists of 15 halls and 9,300 dormitory rooms for the monks. The buildings show a mixture of both traditional Chinese and Tibetan architectural styles.

Map showing location of Ta'er Monastery

Above: Location of Ta'er Monastery in Xining, Qinghai, China